Bob’s Links – Sep 12-18, 2016

Here are links to different articles and posts that I connected to on Facebook during the week of September 12-18. I encourage you to subscribe to these authors if you find their articles worthwhile.

Dad Enough to Sing (David Mathis) “I want my sons to grow up believing that a grown man singing is one of the most natural sounds in the world.”

Stop the Revolution. Join the Plodders (Kevin DeYoung) “What we need are fewer revolutionaries and a few more plodding visionaries. That’s my dream for the church—a multitude of faithful, risktaking plodders.”

Pastor, Be True to God and Yourself (Daryl Cornett) “Today, it seems that a pastor must be a social media guru, a master of marketing, an effective motivational speaker, and, of course, the latest version of cool. It may feel that way because that’s what we tend to see when we view the pastors of the most recent popular mega churches. Or, maybe you have some of their wannabees in your own town. In the middle of all this, just relax and remind yourself of truth with which to anchor the ministry.”

I Am an Old-Fashioned Christian (Tim Challies) “I get the books. I read the articles. I see the news. Christianity seems ready to move on. And I realize anew: I am an old-fashioned kind of Christian.”

6 Things Church Members Need to Know About Pastor Burnout (Marty Duren) “Following the resignation of a high-profile Tennessee pastor last weekend the issue of burnout and failure again occupied the conversation of ministers and church members.”

Some Thoughts About the Recent Exit of Two Megachurch Pastors (Carey Nieuwhof) “Their departures have a lot of people talking and a lot of people thinking. Hopefully, it’s also got a lot of people praying. It also has pastors reflecting.”

Life Lessons for a New Pastor (Jimmy Scroggins) “When I accepted my current position as Senior Pastor, I believed that I was well prepared for the job. But there is definitely something different about being THE head guy – the final place in a church where the buck actually stops.”

My Top 6 Pastoral Leadership Challenges (Mark Dance) “Someone recently asked me what my greatest leadership challenges were as a pastor. It took me less than five minutes because they were so familiar to me.”

6 Things to Remember When Making Changes in a Local Church (Hershael York) “The real problem was not that he changed things, but that he did so in a clumsy or autocratic way. In other words, how he does something is a bigger problem for a pastor than what he does.”

5 Lessons I’ve Learned As a Pastor (Matt Sapp) “This Sunday our church will celebrate its 22nd anniversary. I’ve been at Heritage for two of those twenty-two years, and in those two years I’ve learned a lot.”

